AILF homepage
Dubroff Legal Writing Competition
Last updated August 8, 2006

    Thank you for your continued interest in the Dubroff Legal Writing contest; unfortunately, the contest will not be held this year. Please continue to check for updates, and information for next years’ contest.

    The American Immigration Law Foundation sponsors a writing competition and award in memory of long-time leader and scholar of the immigration bar, Edward L. Dubroff. The Dubroff Award promotes scholarship and excellence in analytical writing on U.S. immigration law subjects.

    24th Annual
    Edward L. Dubroff
    Legal Writing Contest

    Submission Deadline:
    March 12, 2007 (5:00pm ET)

    Unpublished scholarly manuscripts on any aspect of U.S. immigration and nationality law may be submitted for competition. The competition is limited to U.S. accredited law school students. The winning author will receive an honorarium of $1,000.

    Submission Requirements:

    • Manuscripts may be no longer than 50 pages, including endnotes. Brevity is encouraged, but not at the sacrifice of quality.

    • Submissions must be in electronic format (as an email attachment--Word or WordPerfect format only). See address information below.

    • Manuscript must be accompanied by a cover letter indicating the title of the manuscript, author's name, mailing address, telephone number, email address, and name of law school.

    • All identification language must be removed from the manuscript; failure to do so will result in disqualification of the manuscript. Anonymity of the authors will be maintained.

    The Dubroff selection committee will judge the manuscript based on the treatment of subject matter, critical analysis, clarity of writing, and style.

    Authors agree to relinquish to AILF any manuscript reprint copyrights if the manuscript is chosen. Manuscripts that have been accepted for publication by another periodical or are otherwise copyrighted may not qualify. The Dubroff Committee will reserve the award and honorarium if there are no suitable submissions.

    Past Winners
    Gregory F. Laufer (2006)
    Carrie E. Davenport (2005)
    Andrew J. Stevenson (2004)      
    Michael Cooper (2003)
    Elizabeth Brundige (2002)
    Melissa Ewer (2001)
    Betty Ng (2000)
    Gavin Skok (1998)
    Kevin K. Ban (1998)
    Ron Wada (1997)
    Dan Berger (1995)
    Thomas A. Brown II (1994)
    Paul Szeto (1994)
    Wendy Chow (1993)
    Linda Kelly (1992)
    Hilary T. Fraser (1991)
    Marilyn Horsch (1990)
    John Guendelsberger (1988)
    Maria Mejia (1987)
    Robert A. Culp (1986)
    James A. Haggerty (1985)
    Amy R. Novick (1984)
    Gary C. Furin (1979)

Copyright © 2004-2008
American Immigration Law Foundation
Suite 200, 1331 G Street NW, Washington, DC 20005
202-507-7500 (voice) | 202-742-5619 (fax) | (email)


Search Our Site enter keyword(s)
Welcome to the AILF